Getting started

I always liked the quote by Thomas Sowell:

From time to time, I get a letter from some aspiring young writer, asking about how to write or how to get published. My usual response is that the only way I know to become a good writer is to be a bad writer and keep on improving. 

I guess I should get started then...

I tried learning Reagent a few years ago, but found I had a lot of trouble decoding the errors without understanding Javascript and React. I spent the next couple of years doing a 'dual-MS' in Math and Statistics at Cal State East Bay, so didn't get a lot of time to code. (Btw, if anyone is trying to learn math / stats later in life like I did and you want advice, or just to chat, feel free to contact me at ghufran.syed at gmail)

I just graduated a couple of weeks ago, and I now have a lot more time to get back to coding (I also have a day job, which I'll talk about another time). So I decided to invest time in learning at least the basics of javascript. I subscribe to O'Reilly Learning, and found an awesome video course there by Andrew Mead, called The Modern Javascript Bootcamp (also available at Udemy). 

I then started The Complete React Developer Course (w/ Hooks and Redux) a few days ago, and I really like the approach so far - I previously tried the Udacity React nanodegree but only got halfway through due to getting killed with schoolwork around that time. That course was okay, but the Andrew Mead course is so much better! Each additional step is just small enough with enough explanation that the overall progress is fast, even though the whole course is around 40 hours of video. 

Now my aim has been to eventually use React in Clojurescript, using Reagent, before reaching the final goal of using re-frame (phew!). So after doing the first few lessons of the React course, I thought it might be worth trying to do the assignments in parallel, using clojurescript and reagent. That turned out to be a bit more tricky than I anticipated - and what led to me finally starting a blog, just to document what I found, in the hope that some other noob like me might find it helpful. Stay tuned, coming soon...